A thrilling end to the season - Presentations follow Chairman's XI shock victory

In a thrilling finish , the Eric Tracey Golden Wedding XI defeated FPCC with one ball to spare. Eric was is still unfortunately not fully match-fit and so was unable to lead his team in this annual fixture which dates back to 1995, and it was left to FPCC Vice President Simon Letts to lead the visitors. In the past it has featured Kiwi internationals such as cricketer Scott Styris and rugby player Anton Oliver, but this year it was reliant on ex- Fonthillians Michael Rawlinson (who took two sharp catches in the slips, but failed to excite with the bat) and his son Peter, and Mere and Shaftesbury all- rounder Lawrence Yeo . Nick, Alfie and Jonnie Power, along with Andrew Snell, Jolyon Snell and Mark Mikurenda made up the numbers.

Fonthill posted 155, mainly thanks to fine fifties from Rupert Murray and Ewen Moore, and when the ETGW XI responded, wickets fell steadily and cheaply leaving them with over 60 runs needed to win off the last 9 overs and only one wicket remaining, as Mark Mikurenda joined Lawrence Yeo at the crease to polite, if condescending applause. Thanks to a score of 90 from young Mr Yeo including five sixes, and a supporting 11 (including one two) from his partner, the game was won for the Chairman, and he took great pleasure in awarding the trophy to Simon Letts, making it 12-11 to Fonthill in the long-running series.

Several end-of-season presentations were made. Firstly Lyra Medlock and Molly Major were presented with a box of sweets and some coloured pens as a thanks for their fine and enthusiastic work as scorers. John Salisbury was presented with the Club Member of the Year shield for his tireless work on keeping the outfield mown.

There were several nominations for the Champagne Moment of 2020. These included John Salisbury’s stunning, off-balance overhead catch in the deep against The Boot, along with Martin Haines for a very sharp catch behind the stumps off Holly White’s bowling and another at square leg, and Henry Smith’s diving catch to dismiss Chalke Valley’s best batsman.

Jolyon Medlock was nominated for his 5 for 8 bowling performance against Yeovil District Hospital and Beau Swallow (pictured) for his unbeaten maiden fifty for the Club to win the game against Dorset Wanderers with one wicket standing. The winner was Jonny Townsend for his spectacular one-handed diving catch off his own bowling against Mere.

The Chairman then invited everyone to join him and enjoy a great barbecue put on by staff from The Baths Arms. A lovely afternoon, good cricket, a close result (so nearly a tie), and excellent camaraderie and spirit – another good day at Fonthill Park.

  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square